Prairie City Police Department

Interim Chief of Police: Kevin Gott
Guided by its motto of “excellence through professionalism,” the Prairie City Police Department is committed to protecting the safety and security of Prairie City residents. The police department employs three full-time and seven part-time officers.

The Prairie City Police Department is dedicated to the principles of servant leadership. As servant leaders, each member understands the awesome responsibilities they have been entrusted with and approach those responsibilities as true servants. It is understood that servants do not serve themselves, nor do they serve some but not others. A servant serves when they are called upon. They serve with compassion, understanding, and reason. It is with this goal in mind that we strive to do the right thing, for the right reason in every instance. We realize we are human, and therefore flawed, but that reality will not excuse us from seeking excellence in all we do.

In addition to preventative patrol and conflict resolution, the police department offers community outreach. The department works closely with the Prairie City Monroe School District and School Resource Officer.

The department also offers vacation watch for residents’ homes while away from home.  Click here for the Vacation House Check request form.

Direct all questions and concerns to the appropriate numbers listed below. Please note: With the exception of emergency situations, the police department does not unlock vehicles.

Contact Information
Interim Chief of Police: Kevin Gott

Full-time Officer: Bill Sickels

Full-time Officer: Nick Aldrich

Location: City Hall
Emergencies: 911
Jasper County Dispatch (Non-emergencies and animal control): 641-792-5912
Jasper County Sheriffs Office: 641-792-5912